Skip to content

Hitting the Road

October 13, 2017
image1

My editor perusing the work so far

Yesterday it became fall. It has been a weird, late summer for the longest time–as if August had switched places with September and October. All we’ve had is hot and humid weather. Then rain came the night before last and I woke up in autumn yesterday morning. AT LAST! Fall is my favorite time–a time when my interior life is at home with the exterior world. Everything glows and tastes better. Today I am wearing a sweater and relishing my hot cup of coffee.

I’m hitting the road tomorrow for a week to burn through a chunk of this book that I’ve been working on since April. It was supposed to be done this summer. Then it was supposed to be done in October and now it has a very firm deadline at the end of the year.  I am working as fast as I can, but this story was originally supposed to be 25 pages and now it’s almost 75.  So there you go. There have been many freak outs along the way (and I am sure more to come), but I am thrilled at the prospect of going on a road trip all to myself and landing in a place that will welcome me and a project. I am grateful to my family for giving me the time away (and the family car!) to get stuff done.  If you’re interested, you can follow my progress (and many other fancies) on Instagram.

I’m ending my week away by tabling at MICE the weekend of October 21 & 22  in Cambridge, Massachusetts. I’ll have Paper Pencil Life #5 and the rest of my catalog in hand. I’ll be sharing a table with my friend Deb Lucke, the author of The Lunch Witch series. If you are in the area come on and say hi!

Speaking of Paper Pencil Life #5-I’ve had some WONDERFUL reviews from Rob Clough at High-Lo Comics and Rob Kirby at The Comics Journal (I only get reviewed by people named Rob).

Rob Clough says: “Pierre’s quickly become one of my favorite autobio artists, thanks to an approach that is full of warmth, wit and intelligence. Pierre’s ability to balance light and dark on a page, as well as her cartoony self-caricature with figures drawn from photo reference, make every page a pleasurable experience to read.”

Rob Kirby says: “A good collection of daily diary and autobiographical comics not only offers up revealing glimpses into day-to-day life, but also places quotidian events in context of past experiences, present and future hopes, dreams, and fears. Properly balanced, the collection will organically coalesce into an immersive, cohesive whole…Summer Pierre…gets the balance just right.”

How do you like them apples?

Hope you all are staying safe and taking care in this turbulent world. I send you love and song from the road.

Comments are closed.

