Skip to content

Happy 100 Thelonious!

October 10, 2017

monk bg

Today is the 100th birthday one of my favorite artists (in any medium), Thelonious Monk. He was a genius improvisor and composer on the piano. He was an eccentric that critics either loved or hated, was known to spontaneously dance on stage when he was so moved by the music, and had a glorious collection of hats.

25 years ago I was at the beginning of a cross country road trip when I stopped at a friend’s place in Los Angeles who made me a couple of tapes for the road. Among them was a tape of Monk’s Dream. I wore that tape out and have been in love ever since. His song tribute to his wife,”Ruby, My Dear” remains one of my favorite tunes of all time.

Happy Birthday, my dear Monk. I am still living in your dream.

Comments are closed.

