Skip to content

Happy 100th Birthday Ella Fitzgerald

April 25, 2017

Happy 100th Ella!

Today would have been the 100th birthday one of my favorite artists of all time, the great  interpreter of song, Ella Fitzgerald.

She weathered many childhood losses, ran away from reformatory school, and found herself at 17 at the Apollo Theater entering their talent contest–as a dancer! At the last minute she switched to singing–and won the whole thing.  Never trained and yet one of the great interpreters of song to ever grace the stage.

This day also marks the 59th anniversary for the show that was recorded for one of my favorite jazz albums of all time, Ella in Rome.  Not a well-known album, but the first Ella Fitzgerald album I ever heard–and still my favorite. I’m playing on repeat today!

Happy Birthday, Ella!

 

2 Comments
  1. April 25, 2017 5:54 pm

    I saw her perform one year at the mt. Hood festival of jazz in Gresham oregon. When she walked onstage I burst into tears. I swear it was like hearing part of god.

  2. summer permalink*
    April 25, 2017 6:36 pm

    I totally would have wept. LUCKY YOU!

Comments are closed.

