Skip to content

3 Views From Today

December 19, 2016
by

3-views

I haven’t had a lot to say lately–or I haven’t felt that my voice was meaningful in light of what’s happening in our country and in the world.  Yet as I was drawing these 3 images from my day, I kept thinking about a letter I got this fall from a 10 year old budding cartoonist in England. She wanted to become pen pals and said, “I am dying to know what America is like!” At the time, in October, I loved the idea of answering this question, but was daunted by it–what the heck IS America like?  Now, since November, I am haunted by this question–because I honestly don’t know and maybe I never did and a well of grief rises in me.

 

Of course this is only part of the current story I am living out right now, as we ALL try to figure out where we are and what will become of us–a big question that can only be answered in moments and gestures. I know that whatever is to happen, I am where I am–in this very small part of America–living out my tiny part of an ever evolving and larger story that we all contribute to.

I know that whatever is to happen, I have to begin again and try to know where I am. I do this through drawing and words. Even if it doesn’t make sense. Even if it feels foolish and pointless.  This was true before this election and it remains true now.

Heidi, I promise to answer your letter. I just haven’t found the words yet.

 

Comments are closed.

