Skip to content

Comics as Midlife Crisis

November 1, 2016

summer-pierre-slide-1 In September I did a PechaKucha talk in Beacon, where I tell the story of how I came back to comics after stopping for 20 years. For some reason the embedding of the video doesn’t work–so click through to watch it!  They titled it “A Return to Comics,” but my working title was “Comics as Midlife Crisis.” You can call it, what you like!

For those of you not familiar with the PechaKucha format (I wasn’t until I was asked to do it)–it’s a talk where you show 20 images, each for 20 seconds. The images advance automatically while you talk. It was one of the hardest things I’ve done–I had to time everything specifically and I practiced over and over again to get it right.  In the end, I stood up in front of a live audience and let it roll. Here are the results!

10 Comments
  1. November 1, 2016 8:00 pm

    Excellent presentation. I related to your drawing the group of girls in the photo. I was looking at my second cousin’s Douglas College (Rutgers) yearbook from the ’20s and was interested in the styles of hair and clothes of the women in her class. One had a particularly nice “bob,” while her literary merits were compared favorably with H.L. Mencken. Googling her I found that she didn’t forge a career in writing, but rather became a teacher of linguistics. But, ironically, a decade after graduating the woman with the striking hair wound up suing a beauty parlor after she went in for a permanent wave and during her visit a ceiling chandelier fell on her head! I don’t know if there’s a lesson to be learned from this. Perhaps just “life is unpredictable.”

  2. summer permalink*
    November 1, 2016 9:41 pm

    What a GREAT story! I feel like it’s a comic ready to happen!

  3. November 2, 2016 2:38 pm

    What a superb presentation!
    It’s the first time I’ve heard of ‘PechaKucha’, but you’ve done it so well: from the choice of comics, to their illustration, to the content and to the speaking itself. Kudos!
    P.S: Love your comics…

  4. summer permalink*
    November 2, 2016 2:43 pm

    Thanks so much Raef! 🙂

  5. Jennifer Parsons permalink
    November 3, 2016 1:40 am

    this is so good. I love to hear your voice!

  6. November 3, 2016 11:56 am

    Summer, this was so wonderful! I am going through a transition in some ways quite similar to the one you went through (though I started making comics a few years ago during a different kind of transition), and finding you and following along on your Instagram has really been warming my heart in some places it keeps trying to be fearful and chilly. Thank you for this.

    Hannah

  7. summer permalink*
    November 3, 2016 1:37 pm

    Hi Hannah-
    thank you so much–that means a lot. Seriously! Keep going & I will too! xoxox

  8. November 7, 2016 5:52 pm

    Summer, you are a wonderful storyteller. I fell in love with Novelwriting this year after many years dating Essays. They’re from the same family, but I can’t believe how much more depth there is in my relationship with Novel. Still, it’s only been three months, so I’m trying to keep my feet on the ground.

  9. summer permalink*
    November 7, 2016 8:03 pm

    Thanks, Mary Ann! Oooh–that writing sounds wonderful. I hope you both will be VERY happy with each other! 🙂

  10. November 15, 2016 12:32 am

    I really like your work. Great pencils.

Comments are closed.

