Skip to content

My Love Is With You

November 14, 2015
tags:
by

bastille

Like everyone else, I am utterly shocked and horrified by the news of the attacks on Paris.  The fact that I was there just weeks ago makes it all the more emotional for me.  I couldn’t sleep at all last night, reeling with the fact that the streets I loved and have been pining for are filled with such violence and anguish. I have been thinking of the fates of nearly everyone I interacted with while I was there and hope that they are safe.

I had plans to post more of my travel diary this week, but that seems horribly inappropriate now in light of these events. Instead, I offer this very flawed drawing of The Bastille monument, I passed many times and even used as a marker to locate where we were.  It is a symbol of French liberty and often the location for demonstrations and celebrations.  Someone on twitter wrote that Paris’ motto is: “Fluctuat new mergitur,” which means: “She is tossed by the waves but does not sink.”  I don’t know if this is true, but I want to believe it is.

Paris, my love has been with you before this devastating event, and it flares up brightly and fiercely as the news has come.  To the families of the victims, to anyone affected, I hold you in my heart.  Hang on.

2 Comments
  1. November 14, 2015 7:32 pm

    Reblogged this on Mon site officiel / My official website and commented:
    Merci, thanks for the support

  2. summer permalink*
    November 14, 2015 7:49 pm

    Valentin! I hope you are okay and sending good things your way.

Comments are closed.

