Skip to content

Autobiographical Comics Reading & Talk

October 7, 2015

Labrynth Books

Art is not something we create in isolation.  Art happens between the diaper change and the trip to the vet. Between the car accident and the roast chicken.  Every day we fight to seize a little more art from the jaws of this wild existence.  And if we’re lucky we catch the spark while it’s rising.  Autobiographical cartoonists and graphic novelists Glynnis Fawkes, Jennifer Hayden, and Summer Pierre discuss their graphic lives with moderator Gil Roth of the Virtual Memories Show Podcast. Please join us.

Anybody going to be in and around Princeton, NJ later this month wanna come and see me, Jennifer Hayden, & Glynnis Fawkes talk about making comics about our lives? It’s gonna BE SO GOOD.

Subjects might or might not include: Kids! Cancer! Abandoned novels!  Bad boyfriends! Laundry! Lady parts! All moderated by Gil Roth, host of the Virtual Memories Podcast!

Jennifer has just come out with one of the best graphic memoirs I’ve read in years– STORY OF MY TITS.  It’s funny and sad and good and bound to be on many Best of 2015 lists.

Glynnis just came from a residency in Angouleme, France working on her graphic memoir only to return and have a career spanning review by Rob Clough of High-Low.

I just keep on keeping it real.

Hope you can come:

Thursday, October 29, 7:00pm 6:00pm!

Jennifer Hayden, Glynnis Fawkes, and Summer Pierre

Labyrinth Books, 122 Nassau Street, Princeton, NJ

3 Comments
  1. Cecile permalink
    October 8, 2015 1:34 pm

    Yay! So wish I could attend, but I lived closer to Angoulème than to Princeton…

    I think you’re getting better all the time, Summer, and I’m enjoying your steady & wonderful progress tremendously.

    You’re keeping it real exciting!

    Love from the ‘Bourg,
    Cecile

  2. October 8, 2015 6:41 pm

    Dearest Summer:

    Hello! This is Mare Freeborn. I don’t know if you remember me, but I was a frequent reader of (and commenter on) this very blog for quite a few years. Finding your blog helped me to reconnect with that creative part of myself I had stored away for so long. I bought a few copies of “The Artist in the Office” for myself & as gifts (they went over great, by the way – thanks for that!!!!!). I read that book til it fell apart. Loved it & referred to it often. Anyway, I haven’t been very present on line over the last few years because, as I’m sure you know, life happens while ur making plans for other things. Today, I sat down in front of my girlfriend’s computer and immediately began goofing off. Which, inevitably, led me back to your blog (it’s always been one of my fave goof off activities, lol). And, to my delight, I see you will be in Princeton, NJ at the end of this month. That is only about an hour away from my door. So, I will be coming to see you. It seems you have been pretty busy, lately, so I have some catching up to do. I’m looking forward to it. And looking forward to meeting you in person. I promise, I’m not a crazy stalker, lol. But, you’ve had a pretty big influence on my life and I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to tell you so face to face. I’m so glad I decided to goof off today. Here’s wishing you and yours all the best. I hope everyone is happy & healthy. And I guess I’ll see you soon. Take care!

    -Mare Freeborn ;->

  3. summer permalink*
    October 8, 2015 6:54 pm

    Hi Mare! OF COURSE I remember you! So glad to see you here again! I will look forward to seeing you soon! Hooray!

Comments are closed.

