Skip to content

“When everything reminded me of something/ else, I knew it was time to write.”

September 4, 2015

cover 2Friends I am happy to announce that a book I illustrated and did the cover for last year has finally been released into the world:

What They Will Become: Poems by Marita Hastings

As some of you may know, I am a BIG poetry lover and so was excited when the Australian poet Marita Hastings asked if I would be willing to collaborate on a book of her poems.  HECK YES.

When I read the first line of her manifesto poem “Word Pianist”, I knew this was going to be a good fit:

When everything reminded me of something

else, I knew it was time to write.

These ten poems are filled with visitors: words, animals, lovers, and time.  It was a pleasure to read and a pleasure to draw.  Go get your copy now.

2 Comments
  1. September 4, 2015 5:40 am

    Thank you for this post Summer, and for your beautiful illustrations – you managed to give the poems a visual anchor without losing the things that remain deep and mysterious about the way that language works. It made each one of them stronger and richer.

    I can’t claim to have mounted a big publicity campaign on this but I did post a few days back on my blog too. http://www.thesmellofpaper.com/vanitas-vanitatum/

  2. Sue Murad permalink
    September 9, 2015 8:56 pm

    I’m responding so my Inbox unSpams you. Thanks for making art*

Comments are closed.

