Skip to content

Favorite Comics 2014: I Forgot Mom and Dad Edition

January 4, 2015

comic booksOkay, so of course I posted a list of my favorite comics of 2014 and immediately REMEMBERED a ton I wanted to mention.  The problem with favorite lists is that it’s almost like naming your favorite family members–how could I forget MOM AND DAD??

Here’s a bonus edition of favorites:

The Story of My Tits by Jennifer Hayden

This is an excerpt of a forthcoming memoir which I am DYING TO READ (come on Top Shelf! Release it already!!).  I met Hayden at MoCCA and knew instantly that she was someone who spoke my language.  I adore her work–please also see her book Underwire, which is sarcastic, sexy, funny and touching.

The Dungeon by Olivier Schrauwen

I had never heard about Olivier Schrauwen, but his work is incredible.  Beautiful, haunting, and unique.  In this piece it was the childlike game that completely won me over.  It definitely one of the most inspiring comics in terms of form that I read this year.

This 3 panel book review by Lisa Brown of Lord of the Flies is just about perfect.

The Cartoonist: Where Things Are by Cole Johnson

Beautiful.

The Chicago Reader Comics Issue in February had MANY insanely wonderful comics.  Here are some of my favorites:

Where Teddy Bears Come From by Pietre Valbuena and Laura Torres

Mistakes by Gus Kim

Treats for Dogs by Keiler Roberts

Then there is the missing one I have tried in vain to find.  I have no idea who made it or what it is called, but it blew my mind.  I have sought my own twitter feed and tumblr and I STILL cannot find this magnificent comic that was made by a young woman in an hour.  Oh sadness, the internet vacuum.

I think I will TRY my darnedest to bookmark ALL internet comics that blow me away this year.  That way I won’t lose anything.

Okay, that is all!

 

 

2 Comments
  1. glynnisfawkes permalink
    January 4, 2015 8:48 pm

    Thanks for these! A whole new list to follow!

  2. Ming Lovejoy permalink
    January 5, 2015 3:05 am

    This is awesome, Summer! Thank you for your educational and informative catalog of this hip, raw and oh so real and relevant genre! I have already begun exploring. You do so ROCK!

Comments are closed.

