Skip to content

W.B. Yeats Book Portrait

November 4, 2014

Yeats

A recent book portrait commission I made for a birthday present. It was a tough one, but I like how it came out. Every time I do illustration I listen to recorded short stories or podcasts. There must be some neurological explanation for this, but after I am done with the illustration I can hear clearly the stories when I look at the specific lines I was drawing at the time–it’s like those stories are imbedded in the ink and gesture. In this drawing I hear John Muir’s words on the Yosemite Valley.

6 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 4, 2014 8:09 pm

    Just beautiful, Summer!

  2. John Dunn permalink
    November 4, 2014 10:51 pm

    What exactly is a “book portrait”? A book cover?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. summer permalink*
    November 5, 2014 12:10 am

    Just what you are looking at: a drawing of a beloved book.

  4. Jenny Parsons permalink
    November 5, 2014 4:30 am

    How cool is that!

  5. Marie permalink
    November 5, 2014 8:57 pm

    Would you be happy to share some of your favourite podcasts with us? I’m sure I’d love what you love.

  6. Jennifer Parsons permalink
    November 12, 2014 3:38 pm

    I think this pic is so cool as well as your explanation of your thoughts as you drew it. What a cool brain you have!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.

