Skip to content

9 Moments (out of 1000) at SPX

September 15, 2014

9 moments (out of 1000) at SPX

Okay, I lied! Here’s a comic about this weekend. I realized at several moments while at SPX that I was face to face with the real world of human cartoonists. I have been living virtually among them for a very short time, but I have been admiring and engaging with that IMAGINED world my whole life. Needless to say it was a great experience and a tiring one–one that I will be chewing on for some time.

I will say this: there are SO MANY talented cartoonists out there doing wonderful work. I cannot list them all here (but hope to in the next few days), so I will list only my ROOMMATES who were funny and smart and shared not only space with me (the total stranger among them), but also made me feel welcome. Their work is beautiful and a joy to read. If you don’t know them, you should.

THANK YOU
Glynnis Fawkes
Connie Sun
Ellen Lindner
Marguerite Dabaie

3 Comments
  1. September 15, 2014 7:23 pm

    Thanks for taking me there! Love it.

  2. Cecile permalink
    September 16, 2014 11:06 am

    Great stuff. And to meet Lynda Barry (again!)

    I’m glad you oozed adoration & love & more admiration – I would have to (& you did a little for me by proxy).

    Keep going Summer – I love your stuff as much as you love theirs🙂

    Cecile

  3. September 17, 2014 2:21 pm

    Awwwww this is adorbs, I love this! Thank you for being my roommate also and I’m glad you had a great time!

Comments are closed.

