Skip to content

Kicking Butt, Making Comics at West Point

March 10, 2014

IMG_2535

So I did it. I taught my first workshop this weekend and I EFFING LOVED IT!

Sure, it was a bit clunky, and there are a number of things I will do differently in the future (next time I am bringing music and candy), but the main goals of infusing a sense of fun and creativity, and having everyone finish a comic in 3 hours were TOTALLY ACCOMPLISHED.  Also, the hidden agenda of not absolutely making a fool of myself? CHECK!

Hallelujah!

Not a single person there though they could “draw,” but they all made great one page comic stories with clear arcs and outcomes.  I so wish I had copies of them and maybe that’s another thing I’ll do differently next time–bring my scanner and scan copies.  That way I’d also be able to project them for their readings, which a number of folks did too (and was one of my favorite parts).

This experience has just made me want to do more and more and more.  Also, I was not expecting kids from the community, but that part was actually one of the great delights for me and it’s made me think of how I can do more comics with kids in the future.

Thank you West Pointers!

6 Comments
  1. Ming permalink
    March 10, 2014 3:34 pm

    glad it went to well ! that would be awesome if you could post some of their work… great for them and fun for us!

  2. Jenny permalink
    March 10, 2014 4:45 pm

    Summer, thanks for the picture of the class. Helps me to imagine the experience. I think you are a born teacher and encourager and such a talented artist and you are FUN! Go girl!

  3. Jody permalink
    March 10, 2014 7:31 pm

    Summer, I knew you’d f-ing love it! Good on ya, Girl!

  4. March 10, 2014 7:37 pm

    Whooohooo Summer!!! I see a regular course in your future. Once you have the curriculum set, you can just build/tinker/refine. Where can I sign up to take it?

  5. Carin Walsh permalink
    March 11, 2014 9:51 am

    So cool! it’s inspiring hearing your experience stepping into a new frontier. seems that’s where the magic happens.

  6. katherinedunnapifera permalink
    March 13, 2014 7:48 pm

    Way to go, Summer. My first workshop felt a bit clunky too. So great you had a blast, an f-ing blast!

Comments are closed.

