Skip to content

Down in Journal Land

January 21, 2014

Down In Journal Land

8 Comments
  1. U. Nowhu permalink
    January 21, 2014 1:04 pm

    ” down in Journal Land”…Is that a Bruce Springsteen song?

  2. summer permalink*
    January 21, 2014 1:09 pm

    I’ve had it stuck in my head all morning.

  3. January 21, 2014 2:08 pm

    Oh yes I’ve been haunted with the question of what to do with my journals at least since I was a teen. It must be great to have yours all in one place. I don’t even know where most of mine are.

  4. Jenny Parsons permalink
    January 21, 2014 3:48 pm

    I understand the many feelings that are aroused when you try to throw out parts of your past, especially if the parts are journals. I need to clean out my file of old greeting cards from family and friends. It kills me to even think of throwing them away, but it is so painful to look at them for many different reasons. You stirred me up this morning Summer!

  5. Melissa Ewing permalink
    January 21, 2014 10:21 pm

    I’m going through this right now too! Wondering do I try to glean bits out of them by typing them into a text document, do I scan them as pdfs, do I just burn them and forget about them. I may never really decide.

  6. January 22, 2014 1:19 pm

    While I never had as many journals as you I’ve held on to mine since I started keeping a diary in my teens. And amazingly enough they survived the gazzilion moves I embarked on during my adult life. However, a few years ago, when I was packing up my things for yet another move I decided that it was time to release them. The thought of someone else reading them filled me with dread and as I scanned through some of them I had to cringe myself at some of the stuff I wrote. Sure, it’s all a part of who I am and I still love journaling but holding on to all the old diaries that would never have a literary value and that, frankly, I would never want anyone else to read, felt more like a burden than anything else. So I shredded every single one of them (would have preferred to burn them but that was not an option). And it felt great! And since then I have not had a single moment of regret, either. Try and visualise how you would feel without them and go with your gut feeling.

  7. January 23, 2014 7:02 pm

    It always amazes me how you are able to capture Graham perfectly in a few simple lines (and yourself also). What is the magic key to it I wonder? Is it the shape of his head? I feel like you could take a photo of him and superimpose it over the drawing and it would match perfectly! This is the sign of a great cartoonist! It’s true.

  8. February 2, 2014 2:55 pm

    Ugh, I know this feeling so well–and it’s even worse having no kids, wondering who in the world will end up with all this junk. And you’re right, it is less than profound–boy problems, friend drama, mundane. I sense a bonfire in my future.

Comments are closed.

