Skip to content

Don’t Just ‘Like’ Life, Live It!

January 6, 2014

Is it Time to Quit Facebook? p1
Is it Time to Quit Facebook? p2

I made this comic in haste because I got such a big response from folks who feel so darn conflicted about Facebook.  I thought it might be a funny instructional at a time when we are all wanting to begin new relationships to things.  I wanted to also say that after more than a month off of Facebook and I REALLY DON’T MISS IT AT ALL.  There are a few people I wish I had gotten some contact info for, but I am amazed at how much better my life feels.  My internetting on the whole has changed quite a bit from just this one cut.  I am on it less and care about it less.  I had paired down blog reading already, but now I don’t do any of those guilty pleasures I would do on occasion.  My attention span has gone up and I just feel better.  A few people came to find me off of Facebook, but the majority of people I was “in touch” with there have never made a peep, which either means they haven’t noticed (probably) and/or don’t care that I’m not there to blip away on their feed.  So there you go!

Seriously, if you are having conflicted feelings about Facebook just try quitting for 90 days and see what it’s like–you can log back on at anytime and have your account totally in tact.  It might just be a good experiment.  I think you will be surprised by how easy it is to get along without it.

5 Comments
  1. Kim permalink
    January 6, 2014 1:24 pm

    A color comic! I ‘like’ that!

  2. Jenny Parsons permalink
    January 6, 2014 8:08 pm

    I, too, like the color. Since I don’t “do” Facebook except once in a great while, I attest to life without it. I get so much more done and what I do get done is important to the purpose of my life. Thanks Summer for an engaging post.

  3. Anne permalink
    January 7, 2014 6:33 am

    Yay, I am so glad you are back! I have never been on Facebook except for a few unpleasant stalker-y minutes after too many margaritas. But I have spent many moments feeling intensely conflicted about opting out. As in, What if I am missing out on fun, community, or even announcements of real life events? Your (beautiful color) comic is both comforting and hilarious. I especially relate to, “I feel like telephoning my friend, but will she be weirded out by an actual call?” Thank you for making and sharing this.

  4. January 14, 2014 3:48 pm

    I just did it. I quit it and hope to do the 90 days. Phew. Boy, was it making me feel crappy and anxious. THANK YOU, Summer! Now, more time with my kids, hiking, gardening, sewing, reading!! {I hope to also re-read my copy of The Artist in the Office. Wheeeee!}

  5. January 14, 2014 11:19 pm

    Hi Summer! Thought of you today and am just saying hello and howdy!!

Comments are closed.

