Skip to content

An Afternoon Walk With Virginia

November 14, 2013

I was corresponding with one of my old professors, updating each other on the current states of our lives, when I mentioned that I was doing comics.  He remembered a comic I did in college about Virginia Woolf that I had TOTALLY forgotten about.  It BLEW my mind to remember it.  I went looking for it this morning and LO and BEHOLD, there it was in SHABBY black and white.  A few things are clear to me upon seeing this for the first time in probably 20 years:

1) I could barely draw and I did not know that at the time.  2) I did not have any patience and I DID know that at the time.  I found comic making tediously slow and except for one other attempt at a longer work in college, I abandoned comic making for nearly 20 years.  3) Despite my lack of skill and patience, I am touched by the little details that are in this piece: the snail from her short story “The Mark on the Wall,” the painting above her fireplace is “The Conversation” by her sister Vanessa Bell.  4) This was the very baby beginnings of Artist’s-Life-as-Religion for me.  I took a class that fall on Virginia Woolf and it changed my life.  Not only did I fall in love with the work of Virginia Woolf, but I became obsessed with her life and that of the Bloomsbury group.  Sylvia Plath was already a humming influence for me.  Soon Gertrude Stein would become an obsession and Frida Kahlo.  Anais Nin, Georgia O’keeffe, Anne Sexton, and on and on.  It is weird to see the seeds of something that I only NOW see as an intrenched pattern of my life, not to mention HABIT I eventually had to kick.

Oh, 19 year old Summer.  You are so cute.  I find this piece both endearing and cringe-worthy.
A Morning Walk pA
A Morning Walk pB

3 Comments
  1. simone permalink
    November 14, 2013 6:44 pm

    I know that feeling when you discover old work–but I think it’s pretty incredible!!

  2. November 15, 2013 1:20 am

    I think it’s amazing! And totally NOT cringeworthy! The drawing is pretty great to me. I’ll show you cringeworthy. on second thought, I think (hope) I burned most of it.

  3. happysimplemodern permalink
    November 18, 2013 4:25 am

    19 year old Summer could draw just fine! We’re always our own harshest critics. I think it’s cool to see how your style & skills have evolved & grown over time.

Comments are closed.

