Skip to content

Ridiculous Luxuries

October 14, 2013

A Rediculous Luxury

7 Comments
  1. Sarah Chepkirui permalink
    October 14, 2013 9:23 pm

    Yes and yes and yes.

  2. October 15, 2013 1:03 am

    You, m’dear are suffering from Illustrator’s Procrastinitus. Had it hundreds of times. It happens with larger jobs. The job is too overwhelming so you start daydreaming and procrastinating and beating yourself up. EVERYTHING looks better than the thing you are working on. It will dissipate some the closer you get to the finish line and then go away completely.

    On a positive note: I have come up with many great book ideas while suffering from this. Some have since been published. so fear not!

  3. Cecile permalink
    October 15, 2013 2:18 pm

    Summer, I feel for you & with you & through you. Shattered dreams. Life’s expectations not turning out the way you hoped. Kids being fun but also A Lot of Work.

    You think life will never be sweet again. Nor uncomplicated. And then lo & behold! There’s comes the über-awesome Keri Smith to say this is normal and to just keep going. Whoo!

    Can you hear me rotting for you? (Whoops: ROOTING for you!) Your comics are inspiring & drawn from the heart & they hit heads on nails, nails on heads and I think you’re doing really well. And have chocolate & hair cut but also keep drawing.

    I’m excited about the large job you’re working on. And now I feel a little more motivated to write myself.

    To the writing desks. For thereupon lieth the magick!

  4. summer permalink*
    October 15, 2013 2:23 pm

    Thank you, Cecile. I appreciate the rooting & so I will root for you too! Go Cecile go!

    That goes for Keri and Sarah too! To the Batmobile! Let’s GO!

  5. Sarah Chepkirui permalink
    October 15, 2013 3:56 pm

    When I jog (or rather slowly trot) with my daughter in the jogging stroller, I force her to say “Go Mama Go!!” She’s getting bored with it, but not me. So… Go Mamas go!! (and I’m including Mamas to other beings (such as books) besides children as well.) Thanks for a dose of cyber community this morning.

  6. summer permalink*
    October 15, 2013 4:18 pm

    HIGH FIVE, Mama! xo

  7. Anonymous permalink
    October 22, 2013 2:28 pm

    FANTASTIC. Wow, this made my day. I relate, relate, relate, to the point that I even regret that I don’t have certain regrets. In solidarity, Another dreamer/mother

Comments are closed.

