Skip to content

My Affliction

May 6, 2013

My Affliction

7 Comments
  1. May 6, 2013 5:43 pm

    I identify. The web’s a huge time-suck for me. Non-compulsive folks don’t understand. Not only do I mourn the lost time, I always feel like I’ve got a hangover after. My brain feels like porridge.

  2. May 6, 2013 10:33 pm

    The internet (where I’m commenting on this right now!) encourages two of my worst habits: comparisonitis (everyone is doing better than me! having a better time than me! IS better than me!) and avoidance (of…everything). If you or anyone else ever figures out a sure cure for the addiction of this affliction, it should be lauded like a cure for cancer and the achievement of world peace. (Hell, just eliminating YouTube comments alone could probably bring about world peace). And now back to the work I’m avoiding while writing this…🙂

  3. Emie permalink
    May 7, 2013 1:51 pm

    I’m so there with you on this…. BTW… I have both your books and I LOVE them!!!!!!!

  4. summer permalink*
    May 7, 2013 2:09 pm

    Then I love YOU, Emie! Thank you! High Five!

  5. May 7, 2013 3:17 pm

    Heather, if you’re using Firefox as your browser, there’s a free program called Leechblock that works pretty well for me. The controls are extensive and give you a lot of flexibility.

  6. May 7, 2013 11:51 pm

    I use Chrome and have similar extensions installed to help keep me focused when I’m browsing via computer, it’s my smartphone that’s my real weakness. Having access to the internet and all it’s bright, shiny, ever-updating objects anytime, anywhere is simultaneously wonderful and horrible, and its genuine utility makes it hard to imagine ever going back to a regular cell phone. I’m sure this is a common problem among smartphone owners. Years ago I read a science fiction novel called Feed, in which everyone had the internet feeding directly into their brains at all times – it was compelling, disturbing, and probably not far from our eventual reality.

    Here’s a link to the book if anyone’s interested:
    http://www.amazon.com/Feed-M-T-Anderson/dp/0763662623/ref=pd_sim_sbs_b_1

  7. May 8, 2013 5:00 pm

    I’ve heard good things about that novel!

    I only have a pay-as-you-go cell phone. Using smoke signals is faster than accessing the internet on it, and I need it that way.

Comments are closed.

