Skip to content

Dear Diary

April 2, 2013

April 2 2013

I’ve been making one page “diary” entries off and on since I came back from my last visit with my mom in February. I don’t make these every day, but I am making them with more frequency. I am having a hard time writing these days, but for some reason drawing a comic of little moments throughout my day has been deeply calming. Sometimes the pages stretch throughout the day. Sometimes they talk about things I am thinking about (like my coffee habit). Sometimes they are just of the morning (like today’s). It’s something I can do in little spurts through the day when I am with Gus or alone.  They help me feel connected to what I am living in this little town with my big loneliness.  They help me know I am alive even if my life is very quiet.

4 Comments
  1. April 2, 2013 2:46 pm

    I love these, Summer. Love.

  2. Caitlin permalink
    April 2, 2013 2:52 pm

    Me too. Love. When can we expect to find a graphic novel or memoir from you?

  3. April 2, 2013 3:24 pm

    For the last several nights Scott and I have been reading out loud from Robert Crumb’s autobiography in comics, “The R. Crumb Coffee Table Art Book.” Right now we are on 156 of 250 pages. It is a true memoir, even with silly drawings, and they are wonderful to read and share. These remind me of those. You hit those little moments of eternity in the details. In the sadness there’s humor; the coffee filter made me laugh, the little figure trudging up the hill was me. Would love to see pages of these interspersed with half-to-one page writing/drawing.

  4. April 5, 2013 6:07 pm

    “the quiet in my mind is broken.” love that.
    Also, i often find that the only way I can shake loose from feeling blocked is to try something new, even if it feels confusing–you will get where you want to go!

Comments are closed.

