Skip to content

You Are Going To Be All Right

January 18, 2013

Blue hands

You’re going to be all right not because you majored in English or didn’t and not because you plan to apply to law school or don’t, but because all right is almost always where we eventually land, even if we fuck up entirely along the way.

-Cheryl Strayed

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice from Dear Sugar

I don’t remember the last time I have been so moved by a book or a writer’s voice.  I have been alternately laughing, sighing, weeping, writing down quotes, writing my own thoughts, and then weeping some more.  I cry because the letters for help that people wrote to the Dear Sugar column on The Rumpus are some of the purest expressions of living I have read in a long time.  I cry because the human experience is so profound and I forgot.  It has shown me how dull and cut off I have become from life’s great experience and how everyone is questioning and everyone is grappling in their own unique way.  I knew this, but I forgot.  I also forgot that all is all right and probably will be for the time being.

This is a profound book.  Strayed is a profound writer.  Have a good weekend and go get this book.

4 Comments
  1. fortheloveofbooks permalink
    January 19, 2013 11:17 pm

    Oh Summer, I am reading this book too! It’s giving me a lot of comfort right now, like a friend holding my hand, as I try to untangle some emotional issues that have been troubling me.

  2. summer permalink*
    January 20, 2013 1:48 pm

    I am having the same experience, Joy! It is honestly helping me feel more grounded and normal than I have in months. It’s also inspiring me to think up a “reading list for living.” If I was to make up a syllabus of books and materials on a class about living what would be on it? This book would absolutely be on it.

  3. Bev permalink
    January 21, 2013 12:29 am

    I loved her book, Wild, and have this one on my list of books to download. I’ll have to move it to the top of the list now.

  4. January 21, 2013 11:00 am

    Cool! Love good book recommendations. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

