Skip to content

Wild Animals of North America

December 20, 2012

Wild Animals of North America

By far, my favorite thing about living in our new town is the local library.  Gus and I go at least 3 times a week to hang out in the beautiful and spacious children’s section.  Gus plays with the toys there and I get to peruse the extraordinary collection of vintage children’s books.  Among my favorites are the science and how to books.  I keep finding gems like this National Geographic book Wild Animals of North America from 1962.  The odd pictures of humans interacting with “wild” animals totally get me. There are plenty of black and white images of pet skunks (which apparently you could still buy in pet shops back then), twin otters being held up by a man in a hunting cap, and squirrels being fed by a little girl, but it’s the color photographs that totally take the cake.  Once I saw the gentleman in the cowboy hat holding up the beaver I knew I HAD to take this home.

Among my many plans for 2013 are to FULLY embrace the fact that I derive a great deal of inspiration and pleasure from vintage imagery.  No more HOLDING BACK!  I know what you’re thinking: you’re holding back?  Yes!  I am going to dive HEAD FIRST into technicolor and who knows what will emerge!  I think I am also craving color after 96 days of black and white.  I can practically TASTE IT.  Can’t you?

3 Comments
  1. sarah chepkirui permalink
    December 21, 2012 7:11 pm

    I was reading a book from 1945 from my mother’s vintage children’s book collection to my daughter last night (Where’s Farmer James) with both color and beautiful line drawings, and I thought Summer Pierre would appreciate this book. Odd, no? Given that I don’t actually know you. Also, in the Lancaster PA train station a set of vintage posters with illustrations of The Night Before Christmas.

    All this to say yes, I can taste it. I’m with you on the inspiration front!

  2. summer permalink*
    December 21, 2012 7:45 pm

    I kind of secretly believe we are friends, Sarah!🙂 I would LOVE to see that book!

  3. Paula permalink
    December 31, 2012 9:10 pm

    Wow! Your local library is honored!

Comments are closed.

