Skip to content

Mitch Hedberg

December 5, 2012

laughter
This is one of those stories that came out of the blue.  I saw the word “laughter” and went TOTALLY BLANK.  I had no idea what to write, but I went through the motions of drawing the frame and doing the lettering, and part way through the title lettering Mitch Hedberg came rolling through me.  I feel like I could write an entire essay on him and on comedy in general.  Maybe I will.  I’ve only seen a handful of shows and his was certainly the only “name” show that I’ve seen, but I’ll never forget seeing him walk out on the stage brushing past my seat on his way up.  He really was an original, with an observational style that echoed Steven Wright’s dry, one off observations.  It’s still hard to adequately describe Hedberg’s style and manner.  People have called him the slacker comedian because he did look like a guy that had walked out of a Richard Linklater film, but there was more to him than that.  I feel like quoting his lines and jokes doesn’t do him justice because so much of his humor came from the way he talked and his delivery.  Luckily through the MAGIC of the internet, I don’t have to try – you can see for yourself:

On the day that they announced his death I wrote to Chris, the guy who introduced me to Hedberg.  He lamented the loss of this original voice and wondered how there could be justice in a world where Hedberg was gone yet Carrot Top still walked the planet.  Comedy nerds, man. You gotta love them.

 

One Comment
  1. December 5, 2012 8:15 pm

    I love Mitch Hedberg! I have an iTunes playlist full of songs & comedy bits meant lift me up when I’m feeling down (which I generally forget exists when I need it most), and it’s liberally sprinkled with clips from his comedy albums. I agree his delivery is a big part of the magic and his bits never stop being funny to me. Sad that he left the world too soon, but just remember: “As long as you are flammable and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.” 🙂

    PS – Congrats on making it to 80! You’re almost there and you’re doing AMAZING work!

Comments are closed.

