Skip to content

American Psycho

May 29, 2012

american psycho

A commissioned book portrait for my dear friend Felicia Sullivan.  This was by far the most difficult book I’ve ever drawn. Books with photos are tough, but it really showed me the language of design and how precise it can be.  When I used to draw face portraits for my Great Gals calendars and book, I learned that there was always an element in the face that made that person look like that person.  You could get everything else right, but if that specific feature (eyes, mouth, etc.) was just a little off, the essence of their face didn’t work.  The cover of this book was no different.  The lettering had to be precise and it had to be placed in exact spaces of the face.  The “O” over the blacked out eye really evokes the word PSYCHO for example. Felicia proved to be a perfect customer for this sort of job. She knew that cover WELL and told me what needed fixing.  A book portrait for someone who loves that book enough to know its exterior that intimately?  MY KINDA LADY.

One Comment
  1. May 29, 2012 3:49 pm

    This is gorgeous! We must be on the same wavelength because I spent my weekend drawing book portraits too (kelly-kautz.com/weekend-reading) I’ve been learning how to draw on the iPad and having a bunch of fun with it.

Comments are closed.

