Skip to content

An Improbably Fabulous Life

January 16, 2012

(Oh hi Keri Smith readers!)

5 Comments
  1. January 16, 2012 8:12 pm

    Love this! I read the Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas last year and found it inscrutable. But I think I’ll check “Gertrude & Alice” out. They both seem like they lived such interesting lives.

  2. Cindy a.k.a. crichardwriter permalink
    January 16, 2012 10:26 pm

    Funny you should write this today. I just watched “Midnight in Paris” for the second time, and Gertrude Stein figures pretty prominently as a character in it. I will have to read this biography you suggested – I always love reading about fabulous artistic lives.

  3. sarah permalink
    January 17, 2012 12:49 am

    One of my favorite portraits of those two is in a book called Boyhood with Gurdjieff, by Fritz Peters; he spent part of his childhood in a commune-ish scene run by the spiritual leader Gurdjieff in France, and then was somehow spirited off by Stein and Toklas on occasion. Oh, as I get ready for a probable and un-fabulous day tomorrow, after two weeks away, this is a lovely reminder. Thank you.

  4. Kathryn permalink
    January 17, 2012 4:10 am

    Cindy, i too watched midnight in paris twice on the 16th…also read all the richardson bio’s on picasso a few yrs ago…lots of stein & toklas mention…i found summers post really hitting home for me. even though strong, rich, famous, talented women exist i like knowing about the human side of life, the ugly realities…that’s real, that’s authentic…i’m tired of the illusions of fabulousness even though truthfully everything is a kind of constructed illusion…in summer’s last 2 sentences it reminded me that we have to pick our illusions and that’s what makes it all okay, bringing joy amid the less joyful part of humanity.

  5. January 19, 2012 5:10 pm

    I’m swooning over your illustration…all those shades of green with graceful women at the center of it.

    And I noticed (finally?) the new blog header! So bold, so declarative! I love it!

Comments are closed.

