Skip to content

The Mysterious and Adorable Barber Shop

September 26, 2011

#12 on my 20 Reasons I Love Where I Live

There is this little barber shop in my neighborhood that I adore.  You would miss it if you weren’t looking.  Most of the time it is closed, which makes it all the more mysterious.  When it is open I love to walk by it with Gus and get a “good morning” from the barber who wears light shirts with hairdryers, combs, and scissors printed on them. You can’t see it here, but there is a guitar hanging on the back wall.  The front window has plants and cacti.  The first time I saw it, I thought I was going to PASS OUT with how cute and hidden it was.  It’s a tiny building, but to me it houses HUGE secrets.

One of my absolute favorite things about New York is that there can seemingly be sudden wormholes in time that appear out of nowhere that show some magic world or lost time.  Then just as easily they close and you think, wait–where was that little magical thing/place/occurrence? It took me months to remember where this little barber shop was–and then I found it again only by accident.  Now I know where it is, but it still remains a crapshoot whether or not it will be open.  On the morning I took the photo that would aid me in this picture, my family and I were taking a leisurely Saturday morning walk.  I asked Graham if we could go by the barber shop–just in case it might be open.  It was!  I snapped away, delighted to discover the wormhole open.  The barber looked up and grinned in his fabulous shirt and nodded good morning.  One day I’ll have to ask him if I can draw him, but truth be told, I like not knowing the story of the place.  Someday I’ll ask, but for now I just want to keep that mostly closed.

One Comment
  1. September 28, 2011 7:01 pm

    “One of my absolute favorite things about New York is that there can seemingly be sudden wormholes in time that appear out of nowhere that show some magic world or lost time.”

    Yes, this!! This is what I try to tell people when they ask why I like NYC so much, and you have summed it up perfectly.

Comments are closed.

