Skip to content

Family Portrait

May 19, 2011
by

Drawing books again (and again and again).  I am actually working on two book portrait commissions right now and I think it may be THE thing I wish I could do all the time.  A dream project of mine is to do a book of portraits of people through their favorite books.  I prefer the actual copy of the book because I love the wear and the life around the object.  As you can see Gus’ favorite book is well worn with the tearing at the spine and the gnawed on corners.  I know the book by heart–I think a lot of parents do!  His own memory of the book will fade, but I have captured the life it has now.  He LOVES books now, but who knows if he will like them as he gets older.  At least I have captured us as a family at this time and in this way.

People get portraits done of their pets, themselves, and/or their children.  Why not of their books?  If anyone is interested in this as a unique gift idea, please let me know!  Summer (at) summerpierre (dot) com. It would be an honor and a joy to do it.

3 Comments
  1. May 19, 2011 9:04 pm

    “I am a bunny” is a favorite at our house, too. Tavi just calls it “Nani.”

  2. May 20, 2011 3:42 am

    “I am a Bunny” was one of my most favorite books when I was very young; when one of my best friends had a baby a few years ago, I gave him a copy. There’s something so soothing and familiar about that book. When Nicholas stands under that toadstool for shelter, I can almost smell the rain!

  3. Mindy permalink
    May 27, 2011 8:46 am

    Rad, rad, rad! I can’t wait for you to do Lula’s- ABC’s By Charlie Harper! IEveryday I stand in her room thinking about where it will go.

    By the way, I love that Graham’s book is still in great condition.

Comments are closed.

