Skip to content

20 Things I Love About Living Here

April 27, 2011

I am really loving where I live right now, which, frankly, is no small potatoes considering how I was feeling at the beginning of the year.  I haven’t felt this connected to Brooklyn and Manhattan since I first moved here.  Part of it is Gus.  Having a kid has changed dramatically how we are perceived in the neighborhood.  People who wouldn’t have said one word to us in the past, now know us–sometimes by name–fuss over Gus and trade stories about raising kids.  After nearly 6 years here, I really feel like a part of the neighborhood.  People know us and we know them.  There is something really grounding in that.

Another part is my attitude, of course.  I am now making it more and more of a priority to investigate and be part of things that I like about being here.  There is A LOT to like from friends to places to experiences.  I am sure a lot of you have noticed that I am doing more and more illustration and using it here to visually enhance my blog with more frequency.  Ever since I started drawing food and then the books, I am seeing SO MANY things in my daily life that I want to draw and draw and draw.  Right now I am NOT short on ideas and the only thing that stops me from doing more work visually is time and energy.  In any case, going out every day with Gus, even to errands to the grocery store is proving to push my inspired buttons.  There is SO MUCH I want to capture, draw, investigate visually on any given day.

On my 2011 list I wrote down an item of wanting to do “a visual list of NY for the blog.”  I didn’t know exactly how this would go or what exactly to include in it, but recently on my way to lunch with my friend Jose, I realized that the list did not have to be just PLACES of NYC I liked, they could be people, experiences, objects, food, or anything else.  It didn’t have to be just Manhattan, it could be in my own neighborhood, the things I am enjoying now.  It could be personal.  Also, because being SPECIFIC and ABSOLUTE about items is key to getting them done, I decided to put a number on it.  So for the next month, once a week, I hope to give you a piece of the visual list of 20 things I love about where I live. Here’s to loving where you are.

What do you love about where you live?

9 Comments
  1. April 27, 2011 8:01 am

    I love that the Turkish dudes in the Kebab shop around the corner wave to me because I go in there on a weekly basis to get my delicious houmous and salad wrap fix (they make the wraps in store). I love the guy in the corner shop who notices when I’ve been away. I love the chinese lady from the flats opposite who does Tai Chi outside in the morning, she looks all graceful and dignified but if you watch for long enough she spits! I love being five minutes walk from Clissold park, which in my opinion is the most beautiful in London and I love passing the New River Cafe on the way and seeing the crazy mix of people that eat in there. I LOVE STOKE NEWINGTON, LONDON! Thanks for reminding me just how much Summer.

  2. April 27, 2011 1:41 pm

    Right now I love that there are things sprouting up all over my yard and I have no idea what they are because it’s only been my yard for two months. It’s like my new house is giving me a present. I love the way my shoulders drop about five inches as I get off the train in my new town. I love the way the air smells so fresh and earthy. I love that I feel more myself here than I have in years.

    And I love that you’ve given me a chance to write down what I love. Thanks!

  3. April 27, 2011 2:32 pm

    What I’m loving most these days: that the Brooklyn Botanic Garden is just a 30-minute walk away!

  4. Mare Freeborn permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:32 pm

    I love that my garden is starting to come up again. I will very shortly have fresh roses & black eyed susans & be putting the veggies in out back next week. I love that my town is large enough to not know everyone, but small enough to know ALMOST everyone. I love that I never get lost here as I have lived within towns in a 10 mile radius my entire life. I love that I am close enough to my family that I can see them whenever I want, but also far enough away that I don’t get on their nerves (and vice versa). I love that if I want some city living Philly is a 15 minute drive away and if I want country living I can be up in Lancaster County in 45 minutes. I love that I can be in 3 different states within an hour (give or take) whenever I want. I love that all the friends I grew up with are still very close by. I love that I have my Ed, my Kitty, and even my two turtles to share my days (& nights) with. And I love that my 10 year old niece, Tricia, gets to come & spend every weekend at my house. Thank goodness her Mom has such a crazy work schedule. Wow, this was a lot longer list than I thought it would be – I only meant to write a few things. Thanks, Summer, for helping me remember how good I got it around her!!! 🙂

  5. Jenny permalink
    April 28, 2011 1:05 pm

    I love the sun and the ocean and the mountains and the open spaces and the creek and on and on. But what I don’t love is that you and Graham and Gus are not here. Otherwise, it is wonderful here in Santa Barbara!

  6. April 29, 2011 6:40 am

    Yay, I am so happy for you that you are falling in love with your whereabouts! It’s vital to your well being. I am also happy for you that you are feeling connected to the people, that’s one of the biggest things that I love about where I live, the people. The people that I have the closest, most personal connections to live here. Also, I love that in our town there are trees that are so large that they make a canopy over the street. I love it that I live close enough to one of our schools that during certain seasons I can hear the marching bands! We have a hardware store here that still HAND WRITES out your receipt! Though my town is fairly small, I live only a short 12 minute drive to downtown Memphis, Tennessee–and I LOVE that!

  7. summer permalink*
    April 29, 2011 2:02 pm

    I love love love hearing about the love of your life and home everybody! Man, these be some GOOD living!

  8. April 29, 2011 2:57 pm

    I’m love lots about where I live, but today, I comment on what you wrote, K?

    I LOVE that you’re lovin’ your home and your neighborhood and I LOVE the start of your 20 things drawings.

    One question though: you just love the BOX that Junior’s cheesecakes come in? (girlene, when i lived in brooklyn, it was all i could do to resist buying a box every other week …) 🙂

  9. Mindy permalink
    May 8, 2011 9:27 pm

    Wow! You really are a good artist, Pierre. There is something so…Jose that you captured in the picture of Jose. Perfect.

Comments are closed.

