Skip to content

Rest In Splendor

July 29, 2010

I’ve been meaning to pay tribute to HARVEY PEKAR the author of the acclaimed comic series American Splendor, who died two weeks ago.  I know, that’s like 1987 in Internet Years, but I haven’t had a moment to do it.  As my friend Matt said, he was one of the original artists in the office.  He worked his entire adult life as a file clerk at the VA hospital in Cleveland, while also writing reviews of jazz records and penning the stories behind American Splendor.  His job and many of his co-workers appeared within the pages of Splendor.  He kept his job, not only because he couldn’t quite make a living from his writing, but because it gave him structure and a place to go.  As he said, “Who am I kidding?  I’d be lost without my job.”

He was crabby, difficult, and a natural contrarian.  He was also an American original.

Harvey, thank you for your great effort.

Comments are closed.

