Skip to content

You Have a Chicken Purse, You Might As Well Live

March 30, 2009
by

Dorothy Parker with a Chicken Purse

I went and hung out with my dear friend Felicia yesterday and I wore my fox scarf.  Felicia was complimenting me on my animal accessories and she said, “You’re like Dorothy Parker–but with a chicken purse.”  And I thought, OH MY GOLLY, Dorothy Parker would have LOOKED SO GREAT with either the fox scarf or the chicken purse.  Maybe she wouldn’t have drank so heavily.  Maybe she would have been witty and funny, but also had a SENSE OF HUMOR about herself–you know, as in:   Razors pain you; rivers are damp; acids stain you; and drugs cause cramp. Guns aren’t lawful; nooses give; you have a chicken purse; you might as well live.


Her pal Robert Benchley might have been quoted, “Let’s get out of these wet fox scarves and into a dry martini.”
I think I better go up town to the Algonquin and bring the animal accessories–you know, to make up for lost time.

Comments are closed.

