Skip to content

A Something, An Anything for 30 Days

August 16, 2006
by

babysitters
It’s time, homies.

I have long been inspired by arty bloggers out there who TAKE TO THE PAGE and challenge themselves a daily piece of art work. I’ve felt a bit stymied lately (a.k.a. unable to get over my LAZY ASS), and so I have decide to PROPOSE TO MYSELF A DAILY CHALLENGE! Do A SOMETHING, AN ANYTHING for 30 days straight.

In the Lynda Barry class I took last month, I learned to use what she calls “images”–single words that evoke a list of memories. For example, if you picked the word “CAR” you would make a list of ten cars of your life. Usually, if you pick one item from your list of ten, and you start asking yourself questions like, “are you inside or outside of the car?” or “Is it day or night out?” despite what you may first think, you have a very definitive memory around this IMAGE of the car. It’s kind of magical and fun.

I’ve been liking the sort of one page fliers that I do here occasionally. They are done on 8.5″ x 11″ copy paper, with a delicious felt tip pen. They are quick and fun and I can usually find time in my day to do them. So I thought about Lynda Barry’s images and decided to try to do a flier a day, based on the image word that I picked off a stack of cards I’ve made.

Yesterday I picked the word “Babysitters” and quickly assembled what you see here. We’ll see how it goes, but I NEED A CHALLENGE badly. I feel lazy and stuck in that laziness. I need a little trickery to keep myslef going, to keep that slothful feeling of I AM BORED from getting TOO COMFORTABLE in my senses. You know what I’m sayn’?

My scanner situation is a little tricky, but I’m hoping for the next 30 days to post the SOMETHING ANYTHING every day.

wish me luck!

5 Comments
  1. AngelNDisguise permalink
    August 17, 2006 1:18 pm

    That sounds like such a good idea!!Explain to me how that works… you pick a letter and go with it?What are some of the things you have written on your cards?I ask because my blog is kinda dull.

  2. kelly rae permalink
    August 17, 2006 1:19 pm

    i like this idea. i need to try it. i haven’t painted in over a week!

  3. maria permalink
    August 17, 2006 1:22 pm

    Summer, I *love* your flyers! I’m excited to see what you create and share with us for the next 30 days (… and hey, you can always use ‘laziness’ as one of your image prompts if you get stuck).

  4. pippa permalink
    August 21, 2006 1:33 pm

    I love it.After reading the playground thing I remembered the garden at my primary school. We used to build cubby houses out of tree branches and pine needles. I remembered that. But I also remembered how envious I was of Kate who had an American father and therefore an annoying accent that was different from our Aussie drawl!

  5. The Sensualist permalink
    August 21, 2006 1:35 pm

    You should make copies of them and post them on telephone poles for the greater good.

Comments are closed.

